Teahouse Matcha
Ceremonial, sourced from Kagoshima
$104.50 (100g)
~$1.04 per gram
Grade
Ceremonial
Region
Kagoshima
Certification
Organic
Price in context
At $1.04 per gram, it costs more than 52% of the other 969 matchas in the database with a confirmed price and size. Among the 92 Kagoshima matchas with a confirmed price, the median is $0.90 per gram, and this one is above the regional median. Among Rishi Tea's 12 matchas with a confirmed price, this is the 4th-cheapest per gram.
Compared across 970 products with a confirmed price and size, with yen, pound and euro prices converted to dollars. See how Kagoshima compares · How we research
Sourcing
Kagoshima, Japan
View the full sourcing map →Tasting notes
Umami sweetness, creamy taste; smooth, rich and luxurious; sweet, creamy, umami
Composition
L-theanine
24.31 mg/g
Ceremonial-grade published estimate — Goto et al., upper-grade matcha samples, Tea Research Report No.80:23-28 (1994)
EGCG
59.3 mg/g
Ceremonial-grade published estimate — Goto et al., upper-grade matcha samples, Tea Research Report No.83:21-28 (1996)
Pricing as disclosed
Full details
Everything disclosed on the product page (17 fields)▾
- Product Name Full
- Teahouse Matcha | Organic Japanese Green Tea Powder
- Size Price Variants
- [ "100 Grams (50+ servings): $104.50" ]
- Grade Tier
- Ceremonial grade; described as Rishi's top grade of organic matcha
- Cultivar Type
- Tencha (shade-grown tea leaves); specific cultivar not named
- Region Origin
- Kagoshima Prefecture, Kyushu Island, Japan; Kirishima Mountain (volcanic soil region); first springtime harvest
- Certifications
- [ "Organic", "Kosher" ]
- Tasting Notes
- Umami sweetness, creamy taste; smooth, rich and luxurious; sweet, creamy, umami
- Brewing Instructions
- { "traditional": "Sift 1 tsp (1.5g) into a tea bowl, add 2.5 oz (75ml) water at 165°F, whisk 15 seconds with bamboo chasen until creamy/foamy", "other_uses": "Smoothies, matcha latte, or blended with Sencha for a tonic" }
- Ingredients
- 100% organic Japanese green tea
- Harvest Timing
- First springtime harvest of tencha; garden shaded 3-4 weeks prior to harvest
- Nutrition Per Serving 1tsp 2g
- { "calories": 5, "total_fat_g": 0, "sodium_mg": 65, "sodium_pct_dv": "3%", "total_carbs_g": 1, "protein_g": 0, "not_significant_source_of": [ "saturated fat", "trans fat", "cholesterol", "fiber", "vitamin D", "calcium", "iron", "potassium" ] }
- Caffeine
- High (specific mg not disclosed on this page); noted elsewhere on the site as comparable to coffee at 90-120mg per 8oz
- Awards Badges
- Best Seller badge
- Reviews
- { "overall_rating": "4.8 / 5", "total_reviews": 61, "breakdown": { "5_star": 58, "3_star": 1, "1_star": 2 }, "recommend_pct": "95%", "themes": "Vibrant color, smooth texture, sweet flavor, easy to whisk, minimal bitterness" }
- Recommended Teaware
- [ "Matcha bowl", "Bamboo whisk", "Sifter" ]
- Positioning
- Suitable for both daily consumption and ceremonial preparation
- Shelf Life
- Not disclosed
Research notes
Serving size for brewing instructions is stated as 1.5g (vs. 2g used on most other Rishi matcha pages) while the nutrition panel's 'per serving' figures are labeled as '1 tsp/2g' — a minor internal inconsistency in serving size labeling on the same page, flagged as a contradiction rather than reconciled. Nutrition numbers (5 cal, 65mg sodium, 1g carbs) are otherwise identical to Barista Matcha's panel despite the differing stated serving size.


